Midas II- Midas Touch (EP Review)

Lyrics is generally not something I listen for in music, so with hip hop I have to take a different angle than with other genres. However, I know Midas II well enough to know he speaks the truth.

Tagged on Soundcloud with “mentalhealth” and “soulful”, the semi-eponymous EP opens with “Traffic”, a track that has a renewed purpose in these times. “It seems you have a lot on your mind… and I just wanna let you know, I’m there for you [baby]” is one of the best things you can hear somebody say right now. The smooth R&B rhythms and delicate hooks across the EP remind you of someone who is there for you, just like Midas II has been there for me.

My favorite track would have to be “ID (inner devil).” It may just be my bias towards closing tracks, or my tendencies to favor music in a flat key (as opposed to natural). But one must understand that the closing track is a chance to allow the performer to let out their full energy to truly leave the listener satisfied upon hearing it. Cm7 is a very heavy chord if I do say so myself.

So that leaves us with the question of the century, can everybody be a snack? I say that taste is subjective, some people prefer to take it raw while others prefer cooked to perfection. Personally, I don’t care what the result is as long as I come out delicious.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started